DVCA Media Report: March 8, 2020

Sunday March 8, 2020


Diamond Creek is once again through to the Barclay Shield Grand Final after a ruthless bowling performance against Lower Eltham saw the Creek win its semi-final by 64 runs. Lower Eltham troubled the minor premiers with the ball in the first innings as Dananjaya Fernando (4/28 off 19 ) and Jarrod Curtis (2/12 off 16) reduced the Creek to 155. However, as it has done all season, Diamond Creek responded to the challenge as a united team. Luke Campitelli (5/16) and Dan Gilbert (3/25) delivered match winning performances on the big stage to skittle Lower Eltham for just 91.

Heidelberg is one win away from claiming a premiership in its first season in Barclay Shield after claiming the sweetest of victories over Epping by a single wicket. Heidelberg was left to chase 147 and did not lose composure until victory was at hand; John Lever (2/29) and Josh Henkel (4/20) reached out to trip the batting side to claim 3/0 from 6/145. Callum Gogerly and Jack Ridewood were the heroes in the clinch. The win avenged Heidelberg’s Round 10 loss to the Blues and sets up a Grand Final with Diamond Creek.


The Lalor Stars delivered when it mattered most to claim a semi-final victory over Bundoora United by 65 runs. The Stars batted first and were held to 190 after a promising start in which Alex Manoilovski and Steven Kemp posted 86 for the first wicket. However, the target proved far beyond the Bulldogs as Jamie Scott (4/36) ran riot through the top order to instigate a collapse to 125 all out.

Banyule will play the Stars in the Money Shield Grand Final after triumphing over Eltham by 28 runs. Stalwart Brent O’Connor top scored with 50 as the Bears reached 194. O’Connor backed up his effort with 2/19 when Banyule took to the field but it was Jeremy Hannan (4/41) who did the crucial damage with the ball, including his 35th wicket for the season, to dismiss the Panthers for 166.


Bundoora Park will look to strike gold in its first season in the DVCA after trouncing Thomastown United in the semi-final. Jake Bennett’s superb 107 was the best of a deep batting performance with Ryan Miller (69 not out), Thilina Herath (58) and Ramindu Nikeshala (46) piled on the runs in the Park’s total of 6/344. A valiant 77 from opener Ravjit Dosanjh was the highlight of the Kookaburras’ reply, which fell short by 157 runs.

Laurimar thundered into the Grand Final with a near-flawless batting performance against Hurstbridge. Openers Ash Williams (85) and Jake Zerella (56) batted until their side was within two runs of Hurstbridge’s 145 as the Power romped home by nine wickets.